top of page

Lodge of Perfection

Elu Darvel Burgess 32nd

Thrice Pursuiant Grand Master

4° - 14° Degree Summaries



The Lodge of Perfection has the responsibility to confer the 4°-14°. These degrees investigate and contemplate spirituality, and also amplify the Hiramic Legend and lessons from the biblical era.The degrees of the Lodge of Perfection are better known as the "Ineffable Degrees" of the Scottish Rite Masonry because their principal purpose is the investigation and contemplation of the ineffable (unspeakable) name of Deity.

4th Degree – Builder

A Master Mason seeks divine guidance. Philosophy: Brothers grow together in Scottish Rite. Core Values: Reverence for God, Integrity, & Service

5th Degree – Perfect Master

Two sons of Aaron, corrupted by greed and ambition, allow the sacred flame to extinguish. Philosophy: Trustworthiness is more valuable than life and is the basis for Masonic honor. Core Values: Reverence for God, Justice & Integrity.

6th Degree - Master of the Brazen Serpent

When the children of Israel encounter a rough and dangerous journey through the desert, they rebel against Moses and God. Philosophy: The answer to the spiritual problems of mankind is faith in ourselves and in God. Core Values: Reverence for God.

7th Degree - Provost and Judge

A dispute among the workmen where honesty and justice prevail. Philosophy: We should render justice to all mankind. Core Values: Justice & Integrity.

8th Degree - Intendent of the Building

Based on the Old Testament story of King David and his assignment to his son, the future King Solomon. Philosophy: The degree reminds us that each honor we receive requires attention to a particular duty. Core Values: Service, Integrity, & Reverence for God.

9th Degree - Master of the Temple

The Temple of King Solomon is dedicated by priests of many religions. Philosophy: We should not be too zealous in executing justice. Core Values: Reverence for God & Service.

10th Degree - Master Elect

King Solomon learns of his sentence from which there is no appeal. Philosophy: The violator of his obligations to God will not go unpunished. Core Values: Reverence for God & Justice.

11th Degree - Sublime Master Elected

King Solomon's tax collector violates the public trust. Philosophy: When confronted by corrupt, tyrannical, or illegal behavior on the part of a person in authority, the nation should remain loyal and courageous. Core Values: Integrity.

12th Degree - Master of Mercy

Joesph forgives his brothers for selling him into slavery. Philosophy: We are taught forgiveness, compassion, and brotherly love. Core Values: Justice & Integrity.

13th Degree - Master of the Ninth Arch

The degree dramatizes the dangers encountered as men search for the lost word. Philosophy: We are reminded that difficulties and dangers should not deter us from pursuing moral perfection. Core Values: Reverence for God.

14th Degree - Grand Elect Mason

The essence of Symbolic Masonry is compiled in lessons of the Lodge of Perfection. Philosophy: Members are encouraged to worship God at the altar of their choice. Core Values: Reverence for God.

bottom of page